top of page
  • ncasciato

My Favourite "Clean" Beauty Finds

If you are looking to optimize your health, the first step is often to improve what you put in your body, but what we put on our body is often overlooked. There are thousands of personal care products on the market, and many are hidden with endocrine disrupting chemicals called xenoestrogens which invade the body and mimic estrogen. Minimizing these toxins is imperative in balancing your hormones.


In today’s BLOG I share with you my favourite “clean” beauty finds that are free of xenoestrogens, yet effective and are of extremely high quality.


**Disclaimer: I have no affiliation with any of these brands and I am not getting paid to provide my recommendations. I just really love these products.


What are Xenoestrogens?

Xenoestrogens are a category of man-made endocrine disrupting chemicals that alter the normal function of hormones. When endocrine disrupters enter the body, they mimic our natural hormones by blocking or binding to hormone disruptors. Xenoestrogens specifically have estrogen-like effects. Estrogen is a hormone that is important for cardiovascular health, bone health and reproduction, with the body self-regulating its creation and disposal through biochemical pathways. When xenoestrogens invade the body, the total amount of estrogen in the body increases, causing estrogen dominance. Because xenoestrogens are not biodegradable, they are stored in adipose tissue. When xenoestrogens build up in adipose tissue it can cause breast, prostate and testicular cancer, obesity, infertility, endometriosis, early puberty, miscarriages and diabetes. Xenoestrogens can be up to 1000x more potent than the estrogen produced by our bodies naturally.

This is why picking products that are free of xenoestrogens is important for you and your family. Xenoestrogens are found in personal care products, cleaning products, water, canned foods, receipts and many plastics. Some of the chemicals to avoid include:

· Triclosan

· Parabens

· Phthalates

· Sodium Lauryth Sulfate (SLS)

· Fragrance

· Propylene Glycol

· Coal Tar Dye

· DEA, TEA & MEA

· Formaldehyde

· Mineral Oil

· Aluminum

· Fluoride


My Favourite "Clean" Beauty Products


1. Shampoo & Conditioner: Carina Organics


Why I love this brand: I’ve found many natural shampoos and conditioners to be very drying. However, this brand is so moisturizing. The shampoo lathers without stripping the hair of its natural oils and the conditioner is thick and wonderful. My hair can be completely full of tangles and after putting this conditioner on, I can brush right through it.




2. Deodorant: Schmidt’s Deodorant


Why I love this brand: I have tried SOOO many natural deodorants and let’s just say that they have all been epic fails. At one point I gave up on natural deodorant because half-way through the day, I could smell myself and that was not a good situation. I even tried making my own for a while…until I found this brand. This deodorant is extremely effective (the “smell” protection last forever), smells great and doesn’t break the bank.



3. Face Care: Viva Health Skin Care


Why I love this brand: This skin care line is to die for. I use the Aromatherapy Milk Cleanser which easily takes off all my makeup (without any eye makeup remover) and the Hyaluronic Acid Serum for extreme moisture. I layer this with the Amaze Cream in the morning which is so thick and moisturizing without feeling heavy and greasy and the Bio Brightening C Serum before bed, which boosts collagen and helps with hyperpigmentation. I also use the Amaze Exfoliating Gel which can I saw is….AMAZING! This exfoliant is extremely gentle on the skin and removes dead skin cells on contact. After using this, my face feels so soft.


4. Toothpaste: Hakeem Herbal


Why I love this brand: Originally started in India by “Hakeems” aka Herbalists, this brand was brought to Toronto, Canada to offer these ancestral formulas to the North American market. The toothpaste is the only natural toothpaste I have used that “foams” to remove excessive tartar. It’s effective and is a great price.


5. Mascara: Tok Beauty


Why I love this brand: This is a plant-based formula promoting healthy lash growth. It is formulated to include horsetail plant to strengthen your lashes, pea protein to prevent breakage, and bayberry wax for all day water-resistant wear. Yet at the end of the day, it comes off easily with my Viva Milk Cleanser.


6. Eye Shadow: W3LL People


Why I love this brand: The Power Palette in violet tones is beautiful. The colours are so rich, but they are formulated with jojoba oil, so they are velvety to apply on the eyelid. They are easy to blend and last ALL DAY without smudging. These also wash off easily at the end of the day.




7. Eye Liner: Ilia


Why I love this brand: This is like using a “marker” to draw on your eyelid so it’s easy to apply because it gives you a ton of control. The colour is rich and the tip is pointed to allow for finer details. You can create a barely there look or go bold with a cat eye. And did I say…it also lasts ALL DAY. I’ve honestly never used an eyeliner that stayed on my eyelid all day, but this one does.




8. Eye-Brow Powder: Dr Hauschka


Why I love this brand: I have dark eyebrows, but after undergoing cancer therapies, the fullness of my brows never really came back. I like this powder because it comes in four different shades and that allows me to blend for a more natural look. I also love that they plant a tree for every product purchased.


9. Concealer & Bronzer: Couleur Caramel


Why I love this brand: This European made makeup is formulated with plant active ingredients such as organic argan oil, organic shea butter, carnauba wax, fair trade baobab oil, mineral silica, organic apricot and avocado oil or hyaluronic acid of natural origin. I love the coverage. It covers all my imperfections without being “cakey.”



 

So, there you have it…my favourite personal care products. I hope you found this helpful as you start taking steps to detox your beauty drawer! If you have some personal favourites, send me an email at info@ncwellnessfunctionalhealth.com. I always like to try new products to ensure I’m using the best!


Stay Healthy!


**Disclaimer: Information provided in this BLOG is for informational purposes only and is NOT intended as a substitute for the medical advice provided by your personal physician or other healthcare professional, or any information contained on or in any product label or packaging. Do not use the information provided in this email for diagnosing or treating a health problem or disease, or prescribing medication or other treatment. Always speak with your physician or other healthcare professional before taking any medication or nutritional, herbal or homeopathic supplement, or using any treatment for a health problem.

23 views0 comments
bottom of page